top of page

An Enchanted Evening: The Prom You Wanted To Have



When I was young and playing games with my sisters, if something disturbed my turn -- and it was usually my baby sister — I would yell, “do-over,” and take my turn again. Throughout my life I have wanted “do-overs” more often than I care to admit. My prom was one of those events. I went to prom, but I didn’t really have a good time. My date was controlling, my hair didn’t turn out well, and we had to double date because he didn’t have a car. My curfew was too early and my mother actually stood on the front porch, with the light on, waiting for me to get out of the car in front of my date and my friends who drove us. Talk about embarrassing!


Well, Thanks to the Leland Cultural Arts Center, I’m going to get my prom do over!


On Feb. 17 from 7-9 p.m., The Leland Cultural Arts Center is presenting, “An Enchanted Evening,” a prom for adults.


“We’re very excited,” said Alison Fore, one of the coordinators for the event. "It’s the first time we’ve done something like this and I think it will appeal to many people. We’re having a DJ, Chris Nash, who will be playing fan favorite music. Free finger food will be available and wine (for sale) will be provided by Noni Bacca Winery.”


This is a great way to spend an evening with friends, dancing and listening to music of your era.


If you were a late bloomer and didn’t go to prom; or if you just want to have a better memory of prom than I do, you can dress up in your best “prom finery,” wear a corsage or boutonniere or “come stag or drag!”


Tickets are $15 per person and can be purchased online at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/an-enchanted-evening-tickets or at the door.


Let’s show Leland how to “Do the Twist,” while we’re admiring our “Band of Gold,” and telling our dance partner that this is “A Groovy Kind of Love.”


The Leland Cultural Arts Center is located at 1212 Magnolia Village Way, near the Walgreens Drug Store on U.S. 17.


Don’t miss this event. I’ll be there with “My Guy!”


The Latest Issue
July2023Leland Cover Website.jpg
Follow us on Facebook
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page