top of page

LCAC Instructors Share Their Love Of The Arts

Along with the Leland Cultural Arts Center’s Open House on Aug 28 (see related story in this issue), the Gallery exhibit this month features some of the instructors who teach classes, and we wanted to know more about them and what they do. So we reached out to a few of the instructors who will be featured all month long in the Gallery.


We emailed a few questions to these instructors, and they responded quickly with terrific answers. We got to take a tiny glimpse into who they are as artists, so we thought we’d make this a Q&A piece and maybe also give you a glimpse into the glamorous life of a small-town magazine publisher.


Journalists live by deadlines. We’re often doing things last minute, and it’s not because we don’t think ahead. It’s all well and good to start out with a plan for what a story might look like, but you have to be open to where the story may lead.


We were planning to write about the Open House, of course, and the Instructors Showcase. When we were at LCAC a few weeks ago for the North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce Business Expo, we wandered around to see what else was going on in the building. Well, mostly I did. I went backstage and peeked out behind the curtains, I wandered through the gallery and I even made my way into the pottery rooms and chatted with some friendly people as they worked. And then I went back and got Jeffrey’s fancy camera and took some pottery pictures. I could have spent hours doing that. And that led me to think that we needed to make this into a lovely spread for the magazine to really feature at least some of the things going on at the Center.


If there’s any “art” in journalism, it’s learning how to get out of the way and let people tell their stories. These instructors told us part of their stories, and we’re glad to be able to share them with you. Remember though, what you see on these pages is really just a glimpse, and you’ll find out so much more by viewing their work and meeting them and their fellow teachers at the Open House.



Pam Hickson-Milat

Basket Weaving


How long have you been weaving?

I started weaving thru classes at the Brunswick Community College in 2004.


How long have you been teaching others? And how long teaching at LCAC?

I taught my first basket class in 2011 and have been teaching at LCAC since fall of 2016.


Do you create art in other mediums, and if so, do you teach classes in that as well?

Yes, I fiddle with several things- crocheting, painting, embroidery, alcohol inks.... But just do those for myself.


What do you love best about teaching your art?

I love when a student looks in amazement at their completed baskets. And I take pride in seeing my students grow in the art.


What does having your art on display mean to you?

Grateful for the Godly talent bestowed on me. I love to share how many of my pieces are woven as directed by the Holy Spirit. They come out far different than what was in my minds-eye.



John Hebert

Pottery


How long have you been doing pottery?

I was accepted into the ceramics program at East Carolina University in 2008 and have been working with wheel-thrown and hand building pottery and sculpture since.


How long have you been teaching others? And how long teaching at LCAC?


I’ve had a handful of students who I taught on my personal wheel, but it wasn’t until I started at LCAC in 2018 that I had classes on a consistent basis.


Do you create art in other mediums, and if so, do you teach classes in that as well?


Part of the art program at ECU did include learning many other mediums, including charcoal and graphite drawings, welding, animation, textiles and several others, but I enjoy pottery the most, so it’s easier to share that passion with others. So I’m not currently teaching in other mediums.


What do you love best about teaching your art?

Working with clay is such an ancient art that it resonates in the consciousness of humanity. We learn from ancient cultures based on the pottery we find, and thousands of years from now others will learn from what we create today. That is why I encourage my students to find things they are truly passionate about and we work to create pieces representative of that passion.


What does having your art on display mean to you?

Honestly it’s a bit terrifying, having all those hours of work displaying my innermost thoughts and feelings for the public to gaze upon and hope that my message is interpreted the same way it was conceived. But if you ask me in person I’d tell you I’m happy if a single person is moved in some way, by my work, towards making the world a more beautiful place.



Ronald Williams

Water Color Artist


How long have you been teaching others? And how long teaching at LCAC?

I Teach Water Color for beginners 10 am - 12:30 pm Wednesdays and Advanced Water Color Thursdays 10 am -12:30 pm. Over 50 years — I first taught at Cape Fear Community College, Hannah Block Arts Center, and Brunswick Community College. I started in 1969 right after graduating from Parsons School of Design and have been teaching at LCAC since its opening.


Do you create art in other mediums, and if so, do you teach classes in that as well?

I paint Acrylics when the subject is larger than 18” x 24” on canvas. But I only teach my favorite — watercolor.


What do you love best about teaching your art?

The look on my Students’ faces when they get the results they want. It’s very rewarding for me to see them get better in this very hard to do medium. It’s a labor of love for the medium.


What does having your art on display mean to you?

When people purchase my work and tell me they just love it and the way I capture the memories in their lives.



Brook Lindbergh

Stained Glass


How long have you been doing stained glass?

I’ve been doing stained glass since1998, about four years prior to moving to North Carolina from Michigan. That makes it 25 years now. My wife and I both took a multi-week class to learn both the Foil method and the Lead Came method. It has been a continuous process for projects for all those years. To that end, when we built in North Carolina, we prepared an extra room to support the craft, having water, sewer and electrical in place. As well, we had built-in work countertop space to hold the grinder and work areas for both of us to work on our separate projects without having to clear the area for other activities.


How long have you been teaching others? And how long teaching at LCAC?

I began teaching Stained Glass in September 2016 at the Art Center, and have been doing it continuously since. I do take the months of May, June, July and August off to allow summer youth classes to utilize the area for their specialties and to travel as much as possible. This includes going to sites where stained glass is available for viewing. Much of it is in churches and cathedrals, but it shows up in many other physical areas as well in countries around the world.


Do you create art in other mediums, and if so, do you teach classes in that as well?

I have been doing art in many other mediums during the years, including, woodworking, pottery, metalworking, and now artistic painting in watercolor. With the limits on travel this summer, it has allowed me to take the watercolor classes at LCAC under the direction of the area’s premier artist, Ron Williams. As for teaching, I have not taught in the other mediums, but gained teaching skills as an Instructor in the United States Power Squadron, where I taught classes from the entry level curriculums to the most advanced classes they offered.


What do you love best about teaching your art?

The most satisfying thing about teaching Stained Glass is seeing the completion of a project by each of the students. As much as that, it is also fulfilling to see their growth as they progress their skills to greater levels. They are so excited with the result of their project, and most have a yearning to advance their project complexity along the way. Having an Instructor to lean on for more complex tasks brings them back for continued growth in the craft.

The one thing that Stained Glass offers is that it can be both as simple as making a Sun Catcher or night light to as complex as a large window insert that is many square feet in size and very heavy, requiring structural reinforcement to ensure it doesn’t break. The nice thing about Stained Glass is that the projects last for a lifetime and bring joy to the observer with all the colors and subtleties of texture and light refraction.


What does having your art on display mean to you?

As with any creative skill, it is always satisfying to see the joy on people’s faces and their conversation when they view objects of beauty. Life should always have these moments available to stimulate you to continued progress in your craft. Stained Glass certainly provides this opportunity, and the LCAC Instructors Show provides the venue.


The Latest Issue
July2023Leland Cover Website.jpg
Follow us on Facebook
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page